Postal service in Denmark

This coming week will be my real test, the first time I’ll be doing everything by myself, including producing a video. I’m nervous as heck, especially since this will all be happening in a different city (Copenhagen) than we’ve been living in.

As for living in Arhus, I have to say it’s been pretty awesome. I had a rough first week, but I really love living here. The bus system is very similar to San Francisco, except over here it actually runs on time and the buses are nice and aren’t vandalized by assholes. The Danes are very nice, and very outgoing, except for the cashiers at Fakta. I’ve been getting a lot of walking exercise. Everywhere I need to go is at least 3 km from my place. Funny thing happened yesterday. Yesterday I walked close to 3 km to get to the post office to pick up my care package that my family had sent me. Well I got there at 1:00 p.m. and by the time I got through the line it was 1:15. The lady stamped all my stuff and made sign and all that, and then she asked for the money. What money? She pointed out on my paper that I needed to pay them. She told me she could hold it so I could run home and get the money and then come back. She also said the place was closing at 2:00 p.m. So, despite being out of shape, I ran like hell from the post office back to my dorm room, and then back to the post office, a total of about 6 km in 45 minutes. When I got back to the office it was about 2:05 and the place had closed, but I begged the guy at the door to let me in because I just needed to pay for package and he was kind enough to let me. And I was so grateful for the package. My family sent me shoes and extra clothes, exactly what I needed.

Aside from that, the only thing I’m still really struggling with is the laundry situation. The washing machines and dryers have so many different options and it’s all really complicated, especially in Danish. I can work the washing machines now because you can program it in English which I figured out because “sprog” means language. Speaking of laundry, somebody stole my laundry bag tonight and I didn’t want to walk all the way back to my room to get another one. So being the resourceful person I think I am, I took off my sweatshirt, tied up the sleeves and the neck, and turned it into a bag. Worked out pretty well.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

