Glad the crappy week is over

The past few days have been, to use an Alanis word, “tumultuous.”

My brother played this silly game on Facebook, where he put an Alphabetical letter on a bunch of my pictures. Then he said, “It’s an anagram.” And knowing me, I was anxious to solve it. The letters were S-T-H-G-E-I-E-L-W-O. My first guess was “glow shit.” Then I was eating my sandwich and that’s when I figured it out: “Lose Weight.”  That jerk. Yes, I know I probably gained like 20 pounds in the last 2 weeks or so. And looking at my pictures, I agreed, I was becoming pretty chubby to say the least. So starting yesterday, I’m back to working out and eating less. Funny thing, my body weight fluctuates like crazy. I can be lean one week, then chubby the next. And I admit I have a food binging problem and I should stop.

The Copenhagen trip was kind of bad. Despite the fun captured in the pictures in my last entry, it was really miserable at times. We were all in a high stress environment and almost all our daylight hours were spent working on our reporting. By Friday I had finished all my reporting and videotaping and was about to create my news video. Then the worst, unimaginable thing happened: I found out almost all of my reporting footage had been accidentally erased. When I turned on my tape, most of it was of my room. I had accidentally hit the “record” button while I was transcribing my notes. Now, I told you guys before I’m not a cryer. But at that moment I wanted to bawl. All of my best work had been deleted, gone forever.

I stayed up until 2 a.m. making this shitty video yesterday out of the few scraps left on my tape. I was so mad at myself. It could’ve been so much better.

 

Suggested headline: Denmark plans to put clean energy on the map

 

 

In keeping up with its reputation worldwide as an environmental trailblazer, Denmark is getting ready to unveil its latest project: an interactive online map that identifies the locations of clean energy companies and organizations.

Set to launch in early 2009, EnergyMap.dk would enable organizations to show what they are doing to combat climate change and promote renewable energy while letting Internet users see what kind of clean energy practices are going on in their area.

Its premiere date will coincide with COP15, the United Nations Climate Change Conference in Copenhagen, and is handled by Climate Consortium, a public-private partnership set up to help promote Denmark for that conference.

“You could say it’s a dating portal. But it’s business dating because it works with profiles and these profiles are then displayed on the cases that are shown on the map,” said Hanne Roulund, an adviser at the Confederation of Danish Industries (DI) which helped develop the concept of EnergyMap.dk. She said the site could also promote climate-related events and provide official delegations or environmentally-conscious travelers with routes to see some of the things on the map.

The concept of EnergyMap.dk started out in early 2007. According to Roulund, the idea originated in VE-Net, the Danish hi-technology network for renewable energy. The Danish Energy Industries Federation (which is part of DI) runs this network together with the Danish Technological Institute, and the Danish Energy Industries Federation was responsible for developing the concept of EnergyMap.dk.before the reins were handed over to Climate Consortium.

EnergyMap.dk is, in a sense, similar to San Francisco’s SolarMap, which launched last year and aimed to promote solar energy by allowing residents and organizations to chart where they have installed solar panels. Roulund said she came across the Solar Map last year, but that EnergyMap.dk would take the mapping premise and take it several steps further.

“There are some similarities because there are things charted on a map,” Roulund said. “But it would be organized a different way, with contact as the main focus. It’s going to be result-oriented in a sense that it’s focused on making contacts so that people who are searching for solutions are able to find the companies or the reasons behind the solutions. It’s a tool to help other countries, other companies, other actors live up to the climate goals and swap climate solutions in a more practical way.”

Johanna Partin, the renewable energy program manager for San Francisco’s Department of the Environment, which handles the Solar Map, said she has not yet been aware of EnergyMap.dk, but that mapping tools can help promote environmentally-friendly practices.

“We found this to be a very useful tool in helping residents to get a sense of our existing solar installments, and as a resource in helping them understand whether or not it’s good for their building,” Partin said by telephone.

Currently, the Climate Consortium is working on getting organizations and companies to sign up in anticipation of the Web site’s launch.

“It’s a question of us telling everyone to start feeding in all the information that is required so you can have your individual slot,” said Finn Mortensen, executive director of Climate Consortium. Although the basic package to sign up is free, Mortensen said, a renewable energy company like Vestas could pay extra to show a video about its wind turbines on the site.

Extra fact: Denmark is known for being one, including the first country to dedicate a ministry or governmental department to climate change.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

