Designing a Logo: the Finished Product

Here are the finished designs. A big mistake I made was doing most of the project on my PC laptop, which distorts some of the colors on my screen. By the time I already PDF-ed the files and printed them out, it was then that I realized my light blues were actually light purple, and my “clients” had wanted blue.

Black and white logo (scaled):

alt text

In color:

alt text

Below was the tricky part, designing the business card. I spent hours rearranging the shapes and designs on the front and back. Originally I encircled the logo with the guitar pick shape, but then I thought, that might make it look too busy and give the logo way too many details.

For the back side, I originally just had a guitar logo on the back or a map, but I thought that would look too much like any other business card. And I thought, the business cards that I usually hold onto are the ones that have a fun design and make a nice keepsake whether I actually patronize the business or not. So I wrote a little thing on the back that I thought was cute.

alt text

Then it was time for the class critique. I thought I would receive good feedback on this one. But no, I’m starting to suspect my classmates have a vendetta against me, haha. My “clients”, the group of students who I was designing a logo for, only liked my backside. They criticized pretty much everything else. They disliked my font/typeface, the color scheme, the fact that the text of my logo was in lowercase, they thought it looked unprofessional.

The saving grace were the comments from my teacher, who has worked as a professional graphic designer and is always candid and doesn’t hold back on opinions. She disagreed with a lot of their comments, and said she liked thought the font/typeface I chose was fun and made the company seem accessible. She said the front side look a bit cluttered and I should play around more with the spacing, which I agree with, and that I should pay attention to whether the design holds up when I scale it to a small size. And she said (to no one in particular): “Sometimes the clients are wrong. As a designer, you can’t please your client 100 percent, sometimes you have to push them to accept ideas that they don’t initially like, because you’re the designer.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

