Eurotrip Day 5 in Paris: A Day with Béné

This will be a very picture-heavy entry. But it is the most fun one yet I think.

Day 4 was boring, I spent a lot of time hunting souvenirs with my mom, so I’ll skip right over to Day 5: my day with my French friend, Bénédicte, one of my most favorite people in the world.

She first took me to Jaurès, one of the street arts-iest parts of Paris:

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

It was right next to a canal, and it was green, my favorite color:

alt text

alt text

Aack! What are these vandals doing?! Someone notify the authorities.

alt text

alt text

alt text

Ah, OK, punks, I get it now. Carry on.

alt text

Even this subway station is graffiti art:

alt text

What I really like about Paris’s metro stations is that each one has its own theme, flavor or personality. They even have different chairs at each station. This one looks to me like a smiling face that just says “sit on me”:

alt text

We exited the subway and saw this angel just reaching into the sky:

alt text

We walked down one of the rues and saw a jewish wedding about to take place at a synagogue. A group of random American tourists including myself stop to take pictures:

alt text

alt text

Oh no, what’s this? A man comes out and yells at all of us in French to leave, to get the fuck out. In turn, some of the Americans yell back, “Fuck off!” Béné explains to us the man said there is a bomb. We Americans think it is just a silly ploy to get some privacy.

alt text

Oh no, now the police have arrived! It must be serious. Béné explains to us that the jewish folks found a suspicious, unattended bag.

alt text

alt text

One of the American tourists says, “Oh right, that makes sense, with all the antisemitism going on right now because of people’s views on Israel bombing Gaza.” This was a rather thoughtful comment from a guy who I think earlier said “fuck off.” I figured not a lot of Americans know about a lot of the world being anti-Israel right now.

Anyway, the police cleared the bag, determined it was not a bomb and the wedding went on:

alt text

We took a vote and think this guy was the groom:

alt text

We went down another street and…oh my! These ladies in reflective vests are serious about their biking. Get out of the way, old woman! These girls are ready to rock and roll!

alt text

alt text

OK, I can’t see an archway without photographing it (and funny enough, Wikipedia uses this very same archway for its entry on archways):

alt text

Then we went to the Hotel de Sully:

alt text

alt text

This is an optical illusion. I freaked out a bit because I thought this man was carrying a woman’s head in his backpack:

alt text

Oh wow, this lioness is just putting it out there, isn’t she?

alt text

This would be the first of many Asian brides and grooms in Paris I see casually cross the street over and over again to take a picture. Like, you know, no biggie.

alt text

Béné and I loved this car. It reminds me of those plain backpacks or shoes when I was a kid that came with permanent markers and you were encouraged to mark them all up to make it your own:

alt text

OK, now follow the rainbow poles…

alt text

…right to Le Marais. If Paris was San Francisco, Le Marais would be the Castro. You know, just sittin’ and chillin’ and cruisin’ and all facing forward:

alt text

This is Paris…bitch:

alt text

Then we walked to the something something plaza:

alt text

alt text

You know how sometimes I say I’m the king of inadvertent physical comedy? Well, on this day, I was trying to climb to the top of a three-tiered fountain thinking it would make a cool shot, and before I knew it, one of my worn-out shoe soles slipped, I lurched forward, windmilled, and nearly fell face-first into the dried up fountain. But somehow I caught my balance in time. If I hadn’t died of crushing my skull falling into that deep fountain, I nearly died of embarrassment. Luckily Béné was too distracted making adjustments to the camera (or so she claimed), and the crowd of tourists were facing the other way. But really, someone should put up a sign or something.

Béné and I wanted a stranger to take a photo of us, but we’re both kind of um…iffy about approaching strangers. We first asked a bubbly tourist girl to take our photo, and after she snapped five pictures, I gave her a thumbs up and thanked her because I was too shy to tell her those photos were terrible. We waited until after she and her group passed, then we asked a man with a camera strapped to his neck, thinking, oh he has a camera strapped to his neck, he must be really good at this. He said yes and quickly snapped only two photos of us, but yes, he was good at this:

alt text

Then we went to the Centre Pompidou courtyard and watched a group break dance.

alt text

alt text

alt text

Honestly, as usual with these street break dancing shows, I thought it was a lot of hype and only 5-10 seconds of actual break dancing from each of the break dancers. But a lot of the tourists were impressed and they made a lot of money.

Then we popped into a Starbucks. Ever since we’ve been in Paris, I’ve been all about the yogurt drink craze here.

alt text

Béné got me this due to her stamp card, and I loved it:

alt text

And we visited a metro station undergoing reconstruction.

alt text

I really like pictures with the juxtaposition of old/classic and modern:

alt text

This place is called Au Chien Qui Fume. Jeez, even the dogs smoke here.

alt text

Then we headed to the Louvre. Poor Béné, always having to wait for me because I want to take pictures of everything and anything.

alt text

alt text

alt text

But ta da, the Louvre!

alt text

alt text

Ouch, this Louvre thing sure is pointy.

alt text

We wanted to wait for the sun to set on the Louvre but it was taking forever so we took a walk.

alt text

This lady is just relaxing, sunbathing and enjoying her ice cream:

alt text

And everywhere we go, immigrants are always pushing their wares on us. And OK, I admit it works on me. I buy this kind of stuff:

alt text

alt text

I think this statue is having the same problem I’ve been having trying to find deodorant in Paris:

alt text

And OK, Paris is known for very homoerotic statues, but this, what exactly is happening here?:

alt text

alt text

Oh look, another Asian bride crossing the street:

alt text

We crossed the street too, mostly to get closer to this bewitching obelisk:

alt text

alt text

And closer…

alt text

And closer…

alt text

alt text

And closer.

alt text

alt text

Oh and we got a nice view of the Arc du Triomph and its place as the center of life in Paris:

alt text

Then we got back to the Louvre to see the sunset (but I don’t think these pictures do it justice. I think I took better photos last time).

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

And closer.

alt text

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Eurotrip Day 5 in Paris: A Day with Béné

  1. Great pictures! That statue looks like it might be Theseus and the Minotaur. Man slaying his inner beast. Love the street art as well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

